Last night was just plain wonderful. It was the first game of the regular NFL season and we celebrated by eating an okay frozen grocery store pizza and drinking from a bottle of wine of the okay-est quality. As we were eating our desert – these ice cream bars that I would describe as pretty damn okay – and watching YouTube videos of Peyton Manning being awkwardly funny on Saturday Night Live, Ben turned to me, looked deep into my searching eyes, and said, “I’m really glad that neither of us like nice things.”

In the end, Ben’s fantasy football team made a strong showing and the Colts looked really strong if you don’t count their defense – and it looks like Indianapolis fans don’t count their defense because they don’t really need to. Now I’m looking forward to Sunday’s games, when my much-loved Patriots return to the field and when we will eat snacks and drink beers with our football friends.

